I need to know how to do something

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No Pay Job I need to know how to do something

I am a new filmmaker and want to make my first, serious short-film. the problem is that their is something that this movie relies heavily on and I don't know how to do - space and planets. I wasn't to sure if this went under CG or VFX but I would really appreciate the help. I want to do something similar to this only with something like mars and a ship flying in from the right. (from 1:03 to 1:13)

Can anyone help or point me to any tutorials.

What experience do you have with editing programs?

Steve

Comment

Originally posted by Steve Olander View Post
      What experience do you have with editing programs?

Steve
      I'm fairly good at Adobe Premire, very good at photoshop (if needed), but am a beginner in after effects.

Comment

Im also somewhat good at 3DS max and blender if needed

Comment

Being able to use those programs you should have no problem creating this. Are you looking to "draw" Mars? If that is your concern I cannot help you with that as I don't do computer graphics. Compositing together a star field, planet, and lens flare though should be pretty simple for you with Premier. Start with your star field, then either chromakey a shot of the planet or mask it in a clip above your star field clip. I am not familiar with Premier but I would imagine there may be a lens flare feature. If not you can download free lens flares just by doing a Google search. Put that image or clip above your planet clip. In most editing programs images stack on top of each other in the order you have them on your timeline.

Steve

Comment

Thanks man :)

Comment