Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First page of Screenplay for New Short Film, Critiques?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First page of Screenplay for New Short Film, Critiques?

Someone Get Sam (Opening Scene).pdf

Here's the opening scene to what will most likely be my new short film. I know a lot of you guys have probably heard me talking about it on the forum, but here's the first scene. Just looking for critiques, and if there's anything you think could be improved upon feel free to let me know! I don't get offended by critiques, I look at is as a way to get better, since after all you guys are the audience :S. I'm by no means a professional writer lol but I do love writing. Let me know what you think, thanks!

It's gunna be a heavily influenced Spaghetti Western about a Female cowboy on the run in the woodlands of South Dakota, with a huge bounty on her head.
    Last edited by MrJay10; 04-05-2013, 08:18 AM.

Hi Mr. Jay!

Here are my initial (random) thoughts after reading the opening scene for Someone Get Sam.

1. The opening description paragraph is too long. You need to describe the scene quickly.
    2. Wouldn't a bright orange vest draw attention to someone? Now I have to admit I've never murdered anyone, but if I were to commit such an act, I like to think I'd wear something dark...or maybe camo.
    3. "Her name is Samantha or short for Sam". Besides the juxtaposition of the words it doesn't really tell the reader anything about her. How old is she? Why is she wanted? Is she a good guy or a bad guy?
    4. If the guys are digging a hole to bury her, why is she not gonna last 7 more sunrises?
    5. Who is Savan at the bottom of page 1?
    6. How does a woman, tied to a tree, pull a gun from someone's holster without them feeling it? Maybe you could show her wriggling one of her hands free while the two guys are yappin. Then have her grab the gun and blast the guy before he realizes what happened.