Tips for capturing good audio?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips for capturing good audio?

I just ordered an Audiotechnica AT897 shotgun microphone online to plug into my portable Tascam DR40 Linear PCM audio recorder for capturing dialog for a couple of shorts I'm working on this summer. I will be ordering another AT897 soon so that I have at least two, which can both be plugged into the DR40 discreetly. I will be shooting both indoors and out for these projects.

I have a bit of experience with audio equipment from a conference audio/video (PSAV) job I did a few years ago, but beyond that I don't know much about technique for capturing audio on set.

Does anyone have some good tips and tricks to get the most out of my limited equipment? Any good tutorials?

I should also mention that I have a USB large diaphram Blue Snowball microphone and will have access to a laptop for recording with it. Perhaps for ambient sounds. Foley...

I am not an audio expert, but I do know of one simple tip. Before each shot that you film, clap your hands in front of the camera, and also where you hear the audio. This will make sinking the sound up in post a lot easier. Also, buy a windscreen if you don't have one already. I look forward to hearing more good audio tips! (Because I could probably use them :)
    -AF

sigpic

Comment

It sounds like you have ordered some good equipment. I also use the DR40 and a similar quality shotgun mic. They should serve you well.

Here are a few tips:

1. Make sure the microphone is as close to the sound source as possible and pointed at it. Use a boom pole. (yes I know this seems obvious but it might not be for someone)

2. pay attention to what the audio sounds like when the mic is placed in different locations. It will sound different depending on mic placement. Usually dialogue is best recorded from above the actors' heads.