Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

HELP, I've got Grain Noise On My Digital Footage!!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP, I've got Grain Noise On My Digital Footage!!!

Recently I just finished shooting my third feature film, and in one of the scenes I noticed I did a really dumb ass thing. I under lit the scene. The footage is so grainy, it looks like the actor has developed some horrible skin disease. "Ugh, make flesh crawl"

Now, I'm a poor filmmaker, but I have a pretty decent prosumer camera. It's a Sony HDR AX2000. No more f#[at]king DV tape, Yeaaaa. It records to twin SD chips. I love this as it's a faster download speed to my editing software (Final Cut Pro 7).

Anyway, back to my major screw up.

Many people, the experts (sic), will tell you that, once you have recorded grain noise onto digital, you are totally FUCKED FOREVER, Bwhahahahahahaha

Not true. There is a nifty little program called "Neat Video", and for about 100 banana skins this program will clean the grain off your digital video footage. "Is it perfect?" you ask. It depends on how grainy your footage is. Obviously the more grain the less perfect it will be. But any less grain is better than what you had before.

Check it out at Neat Video - best noise reduction for digital video

Editing Tip: If you want to film a dark scene, and you don't have the best of cameras, go ahead and light it well (avoiding burn out, of course), and then fix it in post. I prefer using After Effects to darken my scenes and Video CoPilot have a great video tutorial on the subject here: VIDEO COPILOT | After Effects Tutorials, Plug-ins and Stock Footage for Post Production Professionals