Need input on mockumentry/pov/found footage horror filmmakers

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need input on mockumentry/pov/found footage horror filmmakers

I'm a film student looking do a mockumentry/pov/found footage horror film as a side project. I don't have much experience. Yes I know this sub genre has been done way to much but I like it. What type of camera could I use without breaking the bank? I want the Blair witch feel to the film. I have a great subject that would make a great documentary by it's itself but I want to turn it into a horror film. I loved the Blair Witch Project and to try create something with little to no money. I have Adobe CS 6 master collection with all the editing programs plus others. I even have a great idea for a production company. Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated.

GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition. It does 2.7k Resolution at 24 FPS and has a Cine mode. They're $400 and can be mounted just about anywhere. It also has 4k but only at 12fps.

Comment

mbay2008,

You are headed in the right direction. Found footage horror for the budget will be your best chance of making a profit. Since they can be done so cheaply, yet have such a mass appeal I really think you will have a profitable film (If done correctly)

That said, I would have to recommend the Canon ViXiA HD $599 retail, but im sure you can find it cheaper somewhere.

Looking forward to following this project.
      Distribber - Keep 100% of your film's revenue

Comment

I am curious Nick. What would make you pick that particular camera over the GoPro?

Comment

mbay, don't think like that! Because when you do, you will see 30 found footage films after yours that made lots of money!

Paul Shaultz

Comment

Originally posted by Jsthompson79 View Post
            I am curious Nick. What would make you pick that particular camera over the GoPro?