Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting serious about filmmaking!

Hey guys,
    My name is Daniel Jaggers and I have been interested in filmmaking for nearly 4 years now. I am currently in college at MTSU (4th best media program for a state school in the country) and I am majoring in Electronic Media Production. In high school I took the first 2 levels of media offered my sophomore and junior year, then senior year I took both the 3rd and 4th level. I am very serious about being a filmmaker as a career. I love it and it makes me very happy.
    I am honestly stuck on what I would like to do with this profession, however. If I could do it all, I would. I am great at editing and I love it! Also, I am very into writing. I just downloaded Celtx and I can't wait to get an idea to use it with. I am very talented with cinematography and getting great shots. On top of that, I sometimes think directing would be a great thing for me as well.
    I currently bought my first real camera, even though it's not meant at all for filmmaking. I purchased the GoPro 3: Black Edition to use with my car and maybe some for a short film I produce one day. I have read a bit on here and the Canon 3Ti looks good to me, and it's fairly cheap.
    I am located in the Nashville, TN area and I am always looking for projects to work on but I haven't had any luck yet.
    If you guys have any advice for me I am always looking for criticism and tips!
    Thanks!
    -Daniel

Hey Daniel! Welcome to the forum.

How do you like the new GoPro?

I think for starters you should just jump right in! Write a few pages of a script, get your friends, grab your camera, and film it, then edit it. After that, you need to comprehend everything that happened. How did the film turn out? Where my friends the best choice to use in my film? Was the film interesting?