Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are film festivals a waste of time and money?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are film festivals a waste of time and money?

I tried to get my first film into several horror-oriented festivals, and all they did was take my entry fee. What exactly do film festivals look for in a film? I wasted more than $200 in fees several years ago and I hate to take that road again for a documentary I'm working on currently, especially since I only work p/t.

Sometimes and sometimes not. If you chose the right festivals, not cut it close and send it in close to the deadline, add something startling or attention grabbing in the beginning (judges usually don't even watch full entries), and set aside money before production for submission fees and traveling, then they might be not a waste of time.

Comment

I'm NOT going to say that all of them are worthwhile, but I've had some very good experiences and met interesting people (some filmmakers and some not) at festivals.
      Screenwriter and script consultant: www.maralesemann.com

Comment

Just out of curiosity Mara, were there any festivals you went to that you recommend people go to, or stay away from?

Comment