Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A few questions from a new guy about editing.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A few questions from a new guy about editing.

Hi! This summer I'm conducting a behavioural research project for my bachelors degree. I'm planning to capture video via a webcam (the quality doesn't have to be amazing hi res or anything), and them compressing it down like its being fast forwarded so I don't have to watch through the whole video in real time, but just note the behaviours I'm interested in. My questions are:

-Does anyone know any software that can record from webcam to laptop for me?
    -Does anyone know any software that I can edit / compress / fast forward? eg. 1h is replayed in 1-2 min.
    -What quality do I have to record in to be able to compress it and still be able to see a clear picture? (quality can be something like the equivalent of 360-480p youtube quality)

I'm quite new to these things and have never really operated a camera, although this isn't a movie project as such I thought it'd be the right place so ask anyway as it's more movie technical than what I know already. Hope someone can help me!

Thank you!
    -Arty

I'm pretty sure 99% of laptops made in the last 5 - 10 years have a built in camera (yes they do) that will record.

Adobe has a free editing software you can download.

If you want to get fancy buy a laptop camera that records high quality, they're not expensive. But, the one in your laptop should do you fine.

On a funny note: Many people are stupid and they keep their laptops open while they sleep or whatever. If someone hacks into your computer they can turn on your camera and watch you... YES, yes they can and they do.