Warning: Use of undefined constant THIS_SCRIPT - assumed 'THIS_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/filmmakerforum/public_html/includes/vb5/template.php(369) : eval()'d code on line 25 Advice on video cards - DV transfers? - Filmmaker Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice on video cards - DV transfers?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on video cards - DV transfers?

I'm going into post on the short film I completed and I'm looking for some practical advice regarding transfering video from a DV tape to an external source for editing purposes.

I have rougly ten hours of footage on standard definition DVC video tape that I would like to upload to a memory card, flash drive, or video card so that I can hand it over to my editor. I'm relatively new to this practice so I'm looking for any suggestions regarding a decent card to purchase. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    www.facebook.com/destroyallsisters

Visit the official FB fage for my short film, "Destroy All Sisters".

Do you have a camera that has a way to connect to your computer? If so, you can capture directly to the computer then start your edits, you dont need to go from camera to flashdrive then to computer. What editing software do you have?
    Distribber - Keep 100% of your film's revenue

Comment

I have a Panasonic DVX100 with firewire and all that business. However, I'm turning the project over to someone else to do the editing duties. Upon re-examination of my first post, I realize I didn't do too well to clarify this.

I would rather hand him over a few video cards or flashdrives then like 9 or 10master tapes.

Comment

CrazyJim,
        Why don't you just get a portable hard drive powred by usb and just put the footage on that and hand it over. It would probably be cheaper than half a dozen flash drives.