Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How should I distribute my film, considering I'm a kid?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How should I distribute my film, considering I'm a kid?

I've heard there are ways to get your feature indies on Netflix, Hulu Plus, etc. but I would highly expect that they have some sort of rule regarding the age you have to be to submit a film for distribution. And that makes sense of course. But considering me and my friend are dropping $1000 on this film, we need to make enough money off of it to pay that back, otherwise we're loosing money.

Is there anywhere else I can submit an indie and make money off of it?

Short or feature?
    Last edited by Anonymous Filmmaker; 03-30-2014, 11:54 AM. Reason: Fixed error
    -AF

sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by Anonymous Filmmaker View Post
      Short or feature?
      A feature.

Comment

I'm no expert in distribution, but check out the vimeo pay per view plan. You do the advertising with social media type stuff, and anyone can pay to watch.
        -AF

sigpic

Comment

It also needs to be marketable...

Comment

Originally posted by MakefilmsOrDie View Post
            It also needs to be marketable...
            uh, yeah, not cool, man.

Comment

I'm only a kid too. I haven't really made any films to sell but I hear Vimeo pay per view thingy is good and Vimeo has a tip jar thing but your video has to be good to get tips. Also you have to pay for them (get a pro or plus account) and you might not make a profit so it could be tough to get your money back.

You could burn the DVD's yourself and sell them. Just have to buy some blank DVD's and maybe a DVD burner. People in your are will like films that are made locally even if they aren't that good.

If your only just starting out I would suggest that you just stick it on Vimeo, Youtube whatever and just get followers and a fanbase. Then try and sell videos and stuff.

Comment