Distributions questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Distributions questions

Hi, i am new to distribution and hoping to know more.

So far, i understand that there are two types of distribution; the self distribution and the main distribution. The self distribution is where you find websites like digi, distribber to help, then the main distribution is where companies will help you with distribution.

I am wondering, can you do both? And what's the other major differences between self distribution and the main distribution?

Thanks

I just saw this right before im heading for bed, let me get back to you tomorrow on my opinion, but maybe someone else can help before then. ttly
    Distribber - Keep 100% of your film's revenue

Comment

Originally posted by iikii View Post
      Hi, i am new to distribution and hoping to know more.

So far, i understand that there are two types of distribution; the self distribution and the main distribution. The self distribution is where you find websites like digi, distribber to help, then the main distribution is where companies will help you with distribution.

I am wondering, can you do both? And what's the other major differences between self distribution and the main distribution?

Thanks
      Traditional distribution model is where you sell the rights to distribute your film to a distributor working in a certain region.
      It usually covers, Theatrical, DVD, Blu-Ray, Video-On-Demand, Television and everything else including hotels, schools, libraries etc.

For example a distributor buys the rights for Germany, all rights, exclusive, on all platforms for 7 years for $XX,XXX.

That is the most common model I'd say, but the deal can be anything you negotiate it to be.

When you are selling to overseas distributors, it is often wisest and easiest to sell all rights.

For domestic rights it is not uncommon to sell one distributor Theatrical another DVD and Blu-Ray and another distributor VOD rights.