Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No Pay Job Looking for a short film to practice sfx / composing on

Hi!

I'm a music technology student from Finland and we were given a task to create a soundtrack for a short film. We are supposed to record foley sounds, compose and record original music and effects. I'm asking if someone has a short film (~4 minutes) and is willing to share it with me so I can practice with it. Only people who'll see it is me and my teacher. If you're interested or have a question, send me a message here or to my email jpk.nissinen[at]gmail.com.

Thanks!

I tried this once before a few months back...barring any sort of reluctance to give their clips away (despite it being a collaborative effort of sorts/ completely non-profit), I get the feeling a lot filmmakers are hesitant to use composers. Whether it is a time constraint, as this process does occur mostly post production, or a fundamental misunderstanding of the importance of an original score, I feel it is a missed opportunity~

I mean, who wouldn't want to explore this? If you have any sort of material us composers can use to create a temp track, at the very least we would return something to you scored. This rubber banding of ideas so speak can jump start and inspire a filmmaker also re-evaluate how they shoot and edit, again refining the film making process.

Just a thought. Some of the finest films made coincidentally have some of the finest music written...

Comment

Indeed. I guess some film makers are possessive about their work and not willing to share it to strangers on the internet, or have had enough bad experiences with collaboration online. I spoke to a friend today who makes films/commercials for living, according to him every time they buy a "stock songs" for their work it never quite fits. Since they don't have a composer in the house that's what they have to do.