Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Creating Professional Scores?

Hey guys,

what do you find to be the best program for creating? I am versed in Pro Tools, Garage band, reason and others but I feel like I've hit a wall with my productions...

I am not a musician so feel free to completely ignore this response. Maybe I am old school (ok I am definitely old school) but music isn't made from programs. Music comes from the heart and the soul and musical instruments, not a computer. A musician does not need a program, all they need is a sheet of paper and a pencil. Put the programs aside and use your heart to create your scores. Feel the music don't program it.

Music Composer

Not a music composer
    Last edited by Mick Scarborough; 05-21-2015, 09:56 PM.

Comment

Well if we're talking about Hollywood blockbuster quality... It comes from top musicians playing well orchestrated music in top studios with world class audio engineers recording and mixing it! I'm sure you already knew that.

If you don't have the budget for the above, like most of us don't! It comes down to a combination of good music + good, well programmed virtual instruments + solid mixing ability = a decent mockup.

I do agree and disagree with what Mick has said. Unfortunately, nowadays good DAW/programming skills are a must - that's just the industry now... Having said that, a solid understanding of music theory, harmony and orchestration will help your tracks sound better and more realistic. As I write a rough musical sketch at the piano then move over to my computer, to flesh it out.

Is there any particular aspects of your compositions you don't like? Do you have an example?

Best,

Mitchell.

Comment