Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Score Instrumentation List

Hello! Fellow Composers

My name is Elizabeth Ortiz. I'm brand new to the career/hobby as a Film Composer/Arranger. I want to start doing my profolio and have samples ready when I apply for jobs. But I need advice/suggestion on how to go about it. I also own a copy of GargeBand and trying to save some $$$ to purchase Logic Studio 9 soon too. Music has been my whole entire life and working on getting my degree in Music too. I want to write scores for classical, jazz, romantic, and etc.

Thank You

Elizabeth (Liza) Ortiz
    Elizabeth Ortiz

Hi Elizabeth, and welcome to the forum. Music is such a huge part of film making and, for me, can be the difference between what makes a good film, or a great film.

I have been a musician and composer for over 30 years but now devote all my spare time to making movies, so we need more composers that focus their energies on that direction.

Please post some of your samples so we can hear what you're doing :)~

Comment

Hi Elizabeth,

As a fellow composer for media, I know of the importance of good samples in my work. Especially if you're working on a low budget film or project, where the director or producer is relying on your knowledge of music technology to deliver a good quality soundtrack, until you have a adequate recording budget to bring in real musicians.

I also agree with Director, music can make or break a film and having the right software is definitely a step in the right direction.

The first thing you need is a good digital audio workstation (DAW), I personally use Logic Pro but there are many others like Cubase, FL Studio, Ableton Live, Pro Tools etc.
      You get many people arguing over which is best, it basically boils down to what you're comfortable using. The better you are at using it the quicker your workflow will be.