Lilly - Short Animated Film Trailer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lilly - Short Animated Film Trailer

Hello, my name is Darko Subotin, I am an animation and VFX student from Serbia, and I am currently working on a short animated film, that could possibly be an episodic series if recieved well. I have done a trailer for it, you can check it out here:

A little about the project:

It is an animation completely rendered in a real-time game software called Cryengine. It is an experiment in how feasable and practical it is to make an animation in a real-time engine and also how it changes the approach to creating animation and visual storytelling. I have virtual sets that you can walk around, put characters lights cameras in them, and then just shoot and edit.

You can check out some additional content and screenshots of the environments on my Facebook page for the movie here :

www.facebook.com/ShortFilmLilly

and also video of environments i created here :

Synopsis:

A man revisits his traumatic event from his childhood by going to his former home. We find out that in the center of everything is a woman, his aunt, Lilly.

I really like the look of this, if the video game level of animation is the goal. I believe the world looks realistic enough as far as what it contains. The scenes look populated with enough elements that we find in real places. They look complete. The color pallet is also attractive.

We would need to see more performances of the characters though to know if it works. We see 4 seconds of the characters speaking and performing at :43 into the video, but that is all. The rest is shots where the characters are not performing, interacting with dialogue.

The camera angles also look effective. I think it is a cool project and has potential, but I would need to see more interaction of the characters performing to see how that would look through an episode.

Steve

Comment