PDA

View Full Version : Music rights / clearance for unique non-profit film

patmiller75
08-23-2017, 01:43 PM
Hello everyone,

I am a videographer and filmmaker from southern California. I am reaching out to talk about music rights for a short film I recently finished. It's a zero budget, non-profit short film that I have made entirely on my own. Currently, it has only been shown privately to friends and family, but am hoping to make it public and submit it into film festivals.

I have used copyrighted mainstream music in the film, and the songs were extremely carefully chosen and play an integral part of the film.

Here is my dilemma: I have done the proper research regarding obtaining synch and master licenses via ASCAP and the songs' publishers. I found the contact information for the publishers and song writers via ASCAP and reached out to each one over a week ago, but I have heard nothing back. I sent the request to about 10 different email addresses, and even filled out forms from the webpages of specific music labels. Still, a week later, I've got nothing back.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I could try next? I already have considered the option of re-scoring the film, but I would like to first attempt to get clearances for the music. It's a non-profit film, and I am only planning to submit it to a few local festivals.
Thank you.

About the film:
This was a 2 year side project for me with zero budget. I practice videography for part-time work, so I was able to use some of my existing camera gear. I've been filming skiing and snowboarding for over a decade, and I wanted to create something unique and non-traditional with this film. A good friend of mine helped me write the script, and I did all the filming, directing, editing, sound design, and color grading. The purpose of this film is to tell a story in a new impressionistic manner, and to gain exposure for my cinematography and film-making techniques.

Demi 31
09-26-2017, 08:22 AM