PDA

View Full Version : Working with an Editor

IndieMovieMaker
08-04-2014, 02:48 AM
Hi, i am a filmmaker and i usually edit my own films. But i know that most people get an editor to do it for them. I was wondering, how does the editor know which shots/takes are good and which ones are bad, which order to put them in and what the look should be?

mara
08-04-2014, 02:31 PM
Good takes/bad takes are ideally noted by the script supervisor. If you don't have one, then I presume the assistant director or a PA would do it.

The director would sit down with the editor to discuss the look and feel of the movie, before even hiring the person. The amount that the director physically sits with the editor varies by project/people. But they would certainly be closely involved in at least the first one or 2 cuts of the movie.

ironpony
08-05-2014, 12:18 AM
I am just going by my own experience so far, but a lot of times I find that choosing which takes are bad or good, based on the entirety of the take is a bad idea. Like for example, almost any 2 seconds of a take can be good. Like let's say you want to cut to a reaction shot a certain time. You don't just go to "the good take" to get a reaction shot. You look through all the takes to see which reaction is the best. The best reaction shot, could even be on the take that is the worst for anything else, accept that one part is usable.

I worked with an editor who did this, he would only take footage from "the good takes". He would decide on a good take, based on if the WHOLE take was good, and forget about all the little nice bits and pieces of other takes. This caused their to be a somewhat poor edit, cause I felt a lot was missed out on. I recut a lot of the movie myself later, and it was better, cause I borrowed from every take, instead of just a good whole one or two.

mara
08-05-2014, 04:37 AM