PDA

View Full Version : Beginner's questions [Production + Edition]

Micard
01-07-2014, 08:48 AM
Hello there!

I'm just a beginner in film making and I've reached that point when it's time to make something worthwhile. I've got a few questions, so I hope you don't mind answering them.

Audio:

1) Should I use internal camcorder mic for recording surrounding sounds? Steps, rustle etc.
2) I have to use external microphone for recording dialogues and important sounds, if I understand correctly.
3) Any tips for synchronizing video and sounds from different recording sources?

Video:

1) Situation. I have a whole scene. Imagine a guy sitting on a couch and then suddenly TV turns on or a painting falls on the floor. How do I show this? Should I show it in one shot, in one big scene? Or should I show the painting falling in a different shot?
2) I have different sources of video recording. I've got a camcorder, a DSLR camera, some other stuff. I assume that the picture will be looking always differently. Any tips?

Thanks!

Nick Soares
01-07-2014, 09:16 AM
You internal mic will pick up so much ambient sound it would be useless if you want to have a "professional film feel" to you video, BUT I would suggest someone here that knows more about DSLRs then I to reply to the audio question.

I have a whole scene. Imagine a guy sitting on a couch and then suddenly TV turns on or a painting falls on the floor.

This sounds like a "clip" not a scene, but to try and answer your question would be really hard to say because we don't know the genre, the current "mood" of the scene, or how the other scenes are being shot.

Micard
01-07-2014, 09:24 AM
Hey Nick! Thanks for your reply! It's going to be a horror movie, so the mood is pretty stressful and dark. I've seen different ways of shooting these kind of things, so I'm not really sure which one is more preferable.

Anonymous Filmmaker
01-07-2014, 02:17 PM
Hello there!