PDA

View Full Version : Walking on Ceiling

tophilis
10-17-2013, 09:53 AM
Hey guys

this is my first post. i am in the middle of shooting a low budget horror movie which is about exorcism. In one of the scenes, the possessed crawls up the wall and to the ceiling. now i don't want to use CG to make this. At the same time when doing it practically, imagine she is crawling on the floor which is set up like the ceiling, how do i get her hair, chain, dress to hang in the other the direction(like if you are actually walking on the ceiling).

i don't want to make her cut her hair or make her wear body hugging clothes to avoid the above.

even if you have a completely different approach to shooting this, they are welcome as well.

thanks

Nick Soares
10-17-2013, 10:57 AM
Im no VFX expert but I think you have two options -

Do the CGI or create a very expensive rid to somehow accomplish what you want.

This is a case of "You can't have your cake and eat it to"

If its not easy to do, it will be expensive.

Klay M Abele
10-17-2013, 11:10 AM
The only practical way of doing this without wire rigging is to place the camera high pointed down at a green floor, using wire from clothes hangers rig her dress so that it looks like its falling toward the camera. For her hair... lots of hair spray/maybe use the wire hangers as well as a base for the hair. It won't be easy, but other than creating CGI or suspending the actress somehow with wires there aren't very many other options.

Anonymous Filmmaker
10-17-2013, 11:42 AM
The only practical way of doing this without wire rigging is to place the camera high pointed down at a green floor, using wire from clothes hangers rig her dress so that it looks like its falling toward the camera. For her hair... lots of hair spray/maybe use the wire hangers as well as a base for the hair. It won't be easy, but other than creating CGI or suspending the actress somehow with wires there aren't very many other options.