PDA

View Full Version : Optioned -- for $200,000?

garylloyd
10-14-2013, 05:03 PM
I've been thinking about this all day and have concluded that they'll be paying me $200,000 to option my screenplay. Here's the logic behind that ...

Last week a Hollywood executive producer emailed me to ask if my script was sold or optioned. When I told her, no, she offered to option it. She went on to say it could be filmed as early as next fall and that I would receive a payment of $200,000 as early as this January. In my haste and excitement I didn't establish if she meant an option payment or the full price of the script. I'm new at this and had all but forgotten the script -- in other words, I wasn't ready for the call.

I've since found out a couple of things: first, the woman is associated with a production company that has produced no less than six major movies, several of which were the Ninja Turtle movies of 20 years ago. In fact, there's a new Ninja Turtle movie coming out that cost them $175 to make. Apparently, this woman's parent company is actually in the business of securing financing for major movies -- movies with budgets of $100 plus. I make this point because if all this is true, I'm talking about an option deal that is unlike 99% of option deals. Here's why...

When a producer has the ability to raise $100 million dollars, a $200,000 option payment makes sense. If nothing else, it shows the millionaires and billionaires you're committed to the script -- you believe in it. Honestly, how do you ask someone like, say, Richard Branson, to commit $100 mil to your movie if you won't commit a measly $200,000? How do you convince him the script will generate $200 million at the box office?