PDA

View Full Version : I am the Space Cadet : an Introduction

spacecadetmotionpictures
06-23-2013, 05:32 PM
Hello everyone!

My name is Robert and I am a relatively new filmmaker from Alberta, Canada.

I just started Space Cadet Motion Pictures this year and am looking forward to making the most use out of this summer to get at least one or two short pictures under my belt.

Here is a short bio of how I've got where I am and what my plans for this summer are:

I've had a passion for "behind the scenes" ever since I was a kid. My family used to always complain because I'd make them watch the making-of featurettes on any VHS movies that were gracious enough to include it after the credits. When DVDs came out and featurettes became the standard, I was pretty well banned from the remote control, so as soon as they weren't around, I'd watch as much as possible. :-P

My first real attempt at filmmaking came when I was 14. I had finally saved enough money ($75) to buy this really old VHS camera kit from the second hand shop. This wonderful unit had an old tube camera that was tethered with a 20foot cable to a battery powered VCR with a strap on it to sling it over your shoulder. I shot as much as I could anytime I could until the thing finally died. But before it died I made four short stop-motion animations using tooth picks, illustrated backgrounds and a penny for my main character's head. Unfortunately, the only tape in existence went missing a decade and a half ago, but I do remember how it made people laugh and that amazing feeling of seeing my own creation on the TV. After the camera died, I didn't have any money for another and my family was very broke, so filmmaking went into a box for a long time.