PDA

View Full Version : A Short Script for critique

Zen 786
03-25-2013, 05:45 AM
Hi all
I am a writer from India. Attaching a short script. Please critique it and let me know whether it is salable. Thanks

Nick Soares
03-25-2013, 02:06 PM
First Question: Do you think they had hatchets in 20,000 BC? Non the less, I found I was interested in the story. I only read a few pages because I am a bit busy right now but keep it up!

Director
03-25-2013, 03:43 PM
Read your story. Like it, but you need some work on your formatting.

Here's what I mean:

BHISHAM SINGH
(Sits on the mattress.)
Maan, I don’t have time. I have a flight to catch. So I will come to the point right away. I need some money. Badly.
MAAN SINGH
(Looks sad, shaking his head.)
So do I Big Brother. As a matter of fact I was going to make the same request to you.
BHISHAM SINGH
(His mask of decorum slips momentarily.)
Don’t give me that crap. I know you are rolling in money.

Give some spacing between these characters, otherwise it's annoying to read.

Secondly, get rid of those big blocks of text:

"The stag that the man has chosen as his prey is unable to get away. The man strikes at it by his primitive hatchet. As it falls the man grabs it throwing his hatchet and pierces his fork like teeth into the animal’s neck. Blood spurting from its neck, the stag violently jerks his limbs in order to get free from the man’s deadly grip. Its fight for survival gets weaker and weaker as the man tears chunks of flesh with his teeth from its body and eats savagely."

Do it like this:

"The stag that the man has chosen as his prey is unable to get away. The man strikes at it by his primitive hatchet. As it falls the man grabs it throwing his hatchet and pierces his fork like teeth into the animal’s neck.