PDA

View Full Version : Free special effects software. Works on PC & Mac



Director
02-20-2013, 04:58 PM
I have seen a few posts on FMF asking about free special effects software. You should get Blender, it's a free, open source compositing software that can do everything Maya, or 3D Max can do.

With Blender you can composite, model, animate, title, and just about anything else.

Blender works on both PC and Mac. The nice thing about Blender is there are a lot of tutorials on YouTube, and Blender also has a forum where you can join Blender "meet up" groups in your area that can advance your learning skills. If there's no group in your area, you can create one.

Go to: blender.org - Home (http://www.blender.org/)

http://www.filmmakerforum.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=592&thumb=1 ('http://www.filmmakerforum.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=592')

Dain F. Turner - IMDb (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3303331/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1)

Jimmy
02-20-2013, 05:06 PM
To bad the user donation option nick is working isn't live yet, I would have thrown you 2 bucks just for this useful post

Nick Soares
02-20-2013, 05:12 PM
Wow, sweet. Can you confirm that this works on a mac decently? I have a Mac OSX 10.6.8 Intel Core i5

Nick Soares
02-20-2013, 05:14 PM
Anyone know if I get the 32bit one or the 64bit?

Havey
02-20-2013, 05:14 PM
Awesome post man! Should be very helpful to a lot of people here.

Jsthompson79
02-20-2013, 05:20 PM
Anyone know if I get the 32bit one or the 64bit?

It should be 64bit Nick.

leetvfilms
02-20-2013, 05:33 PM
Wow, sweet. Can you confirm that this works on a mac decently? I have a Mac OSX 10.6.8 Intel Core i5

Yeah it works on a mac :)

Charles
02-23-2013, 09:45 PM
Wow, thank you Director (http://www.filmmakerforum.org/members/director.html)

Troy
02-24-2013, 12:15 AM
That's awesome! Thanks so much!

Paul77
02-24-2013, 03:48 PM
Seriously Thank you!!!! I have a figure animation studio now! Thumbs Up Director!!!!

http://www.filmmakerforum.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=604&thumb=1

Paul77
02-24-2013, 03:48 PM
http://www.filmmakerforum.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=604&thumb=1 ('http://www.filmmakerforum.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=604')

Paul77
02-24-2013, 03:49 PM
Hmmmm, how do I add a bigger image?

Nick Soares
02-24-2013, 03:58 PM
Thats wierd, I dont even see your images..... I am checking this issue out now

Nick Soares
02-25-2013, 08:59 AM
Director, how do you right click if you are using a Mac? I am trying to do my "control" "click" but its not working

Mark
02-28-2013, 07:34 PM
Sweet. Do we really all have Blender now? This is awesome!

Question though, can someone give me a good starting point, I have no ****ing clue what to do!

Maybe a video?

Mark
04-11-2013, 08:34 AM
Ok so I finally made my first object, thanks director!

khathawayart
04-11-2013, 08:39 AM
how do you right click if you are using a Mac? I am trying to do my "control" "click" but [it's] not working

=============

I think it's option-click.

May be command-click?




Kurt Hathaway
-------------------
VikingDream7 Productions
Video Production & Editing

khathawayart[at]gmail.com

Director
04-11-2013, 08:50 AM
Director, how do you right click if you are using a Mac? I am trying to do my "control" "click" but its not working

Nick, ditch the Mac mouse. Even though I'm a strong advocate of Macs, as you well know, their mouses <---?...er, mice ;)...suck. There, I said it. Just use a regular mouse with right and left clicks and a scroll wheel. Oh, and don't be sold on the Mac's newest touchless mouse. Went through two of them already and then went back to my HP mouse.

khathawayart
04-11-2013, 03:47 PM
Thanks for the heads up on Blender---just got it and will try to play with it over the weekend.

I also have something called Shake... for FX work, I think, but I've no idea how to use it.


Kurt Hathaway
-------------------
VikingDream7 Productions
Video Production & Editing

khathawayart[at]gmail.com

Director
04-11-2013, 03:55 PM
Thanks for the heads up on Blender---just got it and will try to play with it over the weekend.

I also have something called Shake... for FX work, I think, but I've no idea how to use it.


Kurt Hathaway
-------------------
VikingDream7 Productions
Video Production & Editing

khathawayart[at]gmail.com

Yeah, I don't know why Apple discontinued Shake. Its uses the nodes system which other composting soft-wares have copied, including Blender.

You can find a lot of Blender tutorials on YouTube.

As for Shake, it's a bitch to learn, and you can forget about support, unless it's through some forum of old Shake misters.

Nick Soares
04-11-2013, 04:00 PM
Nick, ditch the Mac mouse. Even though I'm a strong advocate of Macs, as you well know, their mouses <---?...er, mice ;)...suck. There, I said it. Just use a regular mouse with right and left clicks and a scroll wheel. Oh, and don't be sold on the Mac's newest touchless mouse. Went through two of them already and then went back to my HP mouse.

Yup, I went out and bought a mouse just for blender a few weeks ago, it worked great! Thanks for sharing this wonderful (But Hard) program!

Director
04-12-2013, 08:46 PM
Learning any modeling program is hard, but I think one of the tricks is learning to think in three dimensional spaces. The X, Y, Z axis. Also, start off with real simple things, and don't try to tackel modeling a person, or animal.