PDA

View Full Version : New York or LA?

Vance Baryn
02-18-2013, 01:45 AM
Hello folks,

I've been putting off really chasing my dream to be a film maker for too long. When I got out of film school, I went into software development because it was easy to get a job right off making a decent amount of money and that lead to almost ten years of not whole-heartedly following my passion for making art, music, and film. It's do or die time.

Now here's the dilemma:

I know LA is the better choice for getting into film production. I was planning on moving there some time this year. It would be hard not knowing anyone in the city and starting from the ground up with no support but that's life.

Then my good friend calls me up and says he's thinking about moving to New York and wants to know if I'd like to go with him. He's a musician and would be looking to make it in the music scene there. I'm also a musician, but my primary interest is in film. If I could do both, that would be even more awesome. I know films get made in New York as well, but I just wonder how much I would regret it if I moved to New York instead of LA to try to make it in film. The advantage of New York is that my friend and I can be roommates and share living costs which are ridiculously high in both LA and New York. Also, we would both be struggling artists of sorts and have each other for support and encouragement.

So, I just want to know what you guys think? Is it significantly more difficult to make it in film in New York than LA? Would I be shooting myself in the foot. Go to the movie making capital of the world all alone... or go to another place where movies definitely do get made also but not as many but have a friend by my side?

Nick Soares
02-18-2013, 07:02 AM