PDA

View Full Version : Critique my Script (Short Dark Comedy)

charles7
02-16-2013, 03:20 PM
I'm a freshman in high school. After showing this script to multiple people (adults, teachers, friends), I wanted to post it here before I put it into production. Tear it apart. Thanks for reading.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B27gHN1cBzblcVpGaU9FOFlIdzQ/edit?usp=sharing

Nick Soares
02-16-2013, 06:34 PM
I only had time to check out the first few pages, very descriptive - I understood clearly what was going on with the tw0 kids, keep up the hard work

Vance Baryn
02-17-2013, 07:53 AM
This story is just not believable to me. None of the characters have any motivation to act the way they do and the whole things seems like just a bunch of contrived situations.

First off, why does the bully just suddenly decide to befriend the kid in the beginning? Just because he finds out Herman has a bad home life? That's not like any bullies I have ever heard of. He's perfectly willing to beat some kid up just for listening to shitty music, but then suddenly grows a conscience? It doesn't make sense.

And then along comes Mr. Duke, which completely destroys any semblance of suspension of disbelief you had. Some full on violent drunk who verbally and physically abuses the students for no apparent reason is still working at the school? Tenure or no tenure, that's just ridiculous and totally out of place unless your intention is to have the feeling of a Looney Tunes cartoon.

Now a scene in which we find out that the protagonist is just some generic goodie-two-shoes. You have the opportunity to set up some dramatic tension and a real moral dilemma there with the drunk girl, but instead Herman just acts like a total idiot and screams that he's a virgin for no apparent reason.

Next there's the useless scene in the field which I completely fail to grasp the point of. It goes nowhere.