PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from a complete noob!!

Fight2Fly
12-04-2012, 12:54 AM
Hello, my name is Jason and I am in dire need of some encouragement/mentor ship as I really have no idea what I'm getting myself into. :-) I feel a bit like a fish out of water as I've been an aviation photographer for over six years now, but have made the move over to video, partially by circumstance, partially by choice. :-)

Anyway I came here because, although my photography buddies are AWESOME people, I felt I needed to talk to some people within the video community.

First of all, since I am new to this, I don't have the best equipment (yet). Right now I'm shooting airshows with a Canon HG20 and an occasional GoPro when I can get some cockpit access (seldom right now). I shot video the last year and a half, and am getting bored with just covering the events/flying themselves. I really want to spend this winter/spring learning everything I can about film making so as I can really go out and make an impact this summer. Having said that, my films will be documentaries.

The other important information is that I'm only a substitute teacher right now, desperately trying to pay off student loans, and a couple operations my wife and I needed this summer, so my budget is $20. Thanks to my generous family and friends, I have slowly accumulated some equipment to help. I've got a set of three studio lights, green screen, an external microphone (eh, it's OK. Slight improvement over the on-camera one), and a brand new fluid pan/tilt head on its way. I built my own shoulder-mounted camera rig for shooting aircraft.